## Nauvoo City Officers

The following chart identifies significant city offices in Nauvoo, Illinois, and the names of the individuals who held those offices between February 1841 and April 1843. The city charter for Nauvoo, approved 16 December 1840 to take effect the first Monday of February 1841, called for a city council consisting of a mayor, four aldermen, and nine councilors, who would be elected and serve for two years. The charter made provision for the city council to add to the number of aldermen and councilors if necessary. Other city officers were appointed or elected by the city council. The first city election was held 1 February 1841. An additional office of vice mayor was created 22 January 1842, though the holders of this office retained their seats as city councilors. Councilors and aldermen are listed in the order in which they most commonly appeared in municipal records.

The mayor and aldermen served as justices of the peace within the limits of the city of Nauvoo. The charter prescribed that the mayor's court "had exclusive jurisdiction in all cases arising under the ordinances of the corporation." The mayor also served as chief justice of the municipal court, and the aldermen as associate justices of that court, to which appeal could be taken "from any decision or judgement of said Mayor or Aldermen, arising under the city ordinances." From the municipal court, appeal could be made to the Circuit Court of Hancock County.

When council seats became vacant because of death, resignation, or appointment to other office, the vacancies were filled by election or appointment by the city council. If members of the city council were to be absent for significant lengths of time, substitute or temporary councilors were elected and sworn in to fill the vacancy. These temporary councilors are not listed in the following chart.

Office	1841	1842		1843			
Mayor	<b>John C. Bennett</b> 3 Feb. 1841–19 May 1842						
VICE MAYOR		<b>Joseph Smith Jr.</b> 22 Jan. 1842–19 May 1842	<b>Hyrum Smith</b> 19 May 1842–6 Feb. 1843				
CITY COUNCILORS	Joseph Smith Jr. 3 Feb. 1841–19 May	y 1842	<b>William Smith</b> 19 May 1842–6 Feb. 1843				
	<b>Don Carlos Smith</b> 3 Feb. 1841–7 Aug. 1841	Brigham Young 4 Sept. 1841–3 Feb					
	Hyrum Smith 3 Feb. 1841–27 June 1844						
	<b>Charles C. Rich</b> 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843						
	<b>John P. Greene</b> 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843						
	<b>John Barnett</b> 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843						
	Vinson Knight 3 Feb. 1841–31 Jul. 18	842	<b>Amasa Lyman</b> 5 Aug. 1842–6 Feb. 1843				
	<b>Wilson Law</b> 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843						
	Sidney Rigdon 8 Feb. 1841–1 Nov. 1	841 <b>William Law</b> 1 Nov. 1841–6	Feb. 1843				
		John Taylor 30 Oct. 1841–3 F	<b>John Taylor</b> 30 Oct. 1841–3 Feb. 1845				
		Orson Pratt 30 Oct. 1841–3 I	Feb. 1845				

OFFICE	1841	1842	1843
City Councilors (co	ont.)	<b>leber C. Kimball</b> 30 Oct. 1841–3 Feb. 1845	
		yman Wight 1 Nov. 1841–6 Feb. 1843	
		<b>7illard Richards</b> 1 Nov. 1841–6 Feb. 1843	
	W	<b>7ilford Woodruff</b> 1 Nov. 1841–6 Feb. 1843	
		<b>Samuel Smith</b> 23 May 1842–6 Feb. 1843	
			<b>Orson Hyde</b> 6 Feb. 1843–3 Feb. 1845
			Sylvester Emmons 6 Feb. 1843–21 June 1844
			Benjamin Warrington 6 Feb. 1843–3 Feb. 1843
			Daniel Spencer 6 Feb. 1843–10 Aug. 1844
Aldermen	<b>Daniel H. Wells</b> 3 Feb. 1841–3 Feb. 1845		
	William Marks 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843		
	<b>Newel K. Whitney</b> 3 Feb. 1841–6 Feb. 1843		
	Samuel Smith 3 Feb. 1841–23 May 1842		
	G	ustavus Hills 23 Oct. 1841–6 Feb. 1843	

OFFICE	1841		1842			1843			
Aldermen (cont.)			<b>Orson Spencer</b> 23 Oct. 1841–3 Feb. 1845						
		George W. Harris 30 Oct. 1841–after 8 Feb. 1845							
	Hiram Kimball	30 Oct. 1841–6 Feb. 1843							
						George A.	<b>Smith</b> 11 Feb. 1843–10 Aug. 1844		
							Samuel Bennett 4 Mar. 1843– 3 Feb. 1845		
Marshall	<b>Henry G. Sherwood</b> 3 Feb. 1841–21 Dec. 1843								
			ick Huntington ct. 1841–9 Apr. 184	2					
Treasurer	<b>Robert B. Thompson</b> 3 Feb. 1841–27 Aug. 1841	John	<b>John Fullmer</b> 4 Sept. 1841–9 Sept. 1842		William Clayton 9 Sept. 1842–ca. 1846				
CITY RECORDER AND CLERK OF THE MUNICIPAL COURT	James Sloan 3 Feb. 1841–12 Aug. 1843								
Coroner				Dimick Huntington 23 May 1842–ca. 1846					
Sexton William D. Huntington 4 Sept. 1841–ca. 1846									