Washington, District of Columbia 



Created as district for seat of U.S. federal government by act of Congress, 1790, and named Washington DC, 1791.1 Named in honor of George Washington.2 Headquarters of executive, legislative, and judicial branches of U.S. government relocated to Washington DC, 1800.3 Population in 1840 about 23,000.4 JS visited Washington DC, Nov. 1839–Feb. 1840, seeking redress for property losses and suffering by Saints during expulsion from Missouri.5 President Martin Van Buren and other government leaders refused assistance.6 Missionaries visited city, 1841 and 1843.7