Interim Content



North American nation. Occupied by Mesoamerican civilizations, ca. 800 BC–1526 AD. Conquered by Spanish, 1521, who established Mexico City as new capital on site of Aztec capital Tenochtitlán. Ruled by viceroyalty of New Spain, 1535–1821. Started war for independence, 16 Sept. 1810. Declared independence, 24 Aug. 1821. Texas separated from country in Texas Revolution, 1835. Fought war with U.S., 1846–1848. Ceded Alta California and New Mexico to U.S. in Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, 1848. Population in 1803 about 5,800,000. Population in 1845 about 7,000,000. Church members looked to capitalize on Mexican-U.S. disagreement over Texas in proposed settlement, 1844. Council of Fifty ultimately determined to settle in area then part of Mexico, 1845.