Interim Content

Wisconsin Territory


Area settled by French, before 1700. Became part of U.S. by Treaty of Paris, 1783. Territory officially formed, 1836, with Belmont established as capital. Capital moved to present-day Burlington, Iowa, 1837. Territory initially included all or part of present-day states of Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, and South Dakota. Reduced to areas east of Mississippi River by creation of Iowa Territory, and capital moved to Madison, 1838. Admitted to U.S. as state, 1848. Population in 1838 about 18,000. Population in 1840 about 31,000. Population in 1847 about 210,000. Latter-day Saints resided in Wisconsin, by 1835. JS letters, dated 1836, mentioned possible exploration of and migration to territory. By 1838, branch of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints established in Burlington area, with around 100 members. Twelve Apostles met in Nauvoo, 29 May 1843, and sent missionaries to Wisconsin. Lumbering operation near Black River provided timber for construction of Nauvoo House and Nauvoo temple, 1841–1845. Seven Latter-day Saint branches functioned in territory, 1844. Following JS’s death, many Wisconsin members joined westward migration of Saints. Lyman Wight led 150 Saints from Wisconsin branches to settle in Republic of Texas, fall 1845. See also “.”


Wisconsin Territory (now state)
United States of America