Interim Content



Originally part of New Spain. After Mexico declared independence, 1821, area became part of Mexico. American colonization increased, after 1840. By 1841, area was known variously as California, Upper California, Alta California, and New California. Area included all or part of present-day states of California, Nevada, Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, and New Mexico. Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo, 1848, ceded California to U.S. Statehood granted, 9 Sept. 1850. In Feb. 1844, JS instructed Twelve Apostles of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to send delegation to investigate California as possible relocation site for Saints. Group of Saints aboard SS Brooklyn sailed from New York City to Yerba Buena (now San Francisco), arriving 31 July 1846. During Mexican War, over 500 Latter-day Saint soldiers and family members enrolled as Mormon Battalion in U.S. Army of the West, July 1846. Following 1,850-mile march, battalion garrisoned in San Diego, Jan. 1847. Some discharged Latter-day Saint soldiers participated in discovery of gold deposits at Sutter’s Mill, 1848, leading to gold rush in area.


United States of America