Connecticut Western Reserve (now in Ohio)
United States

Connecticut Western Reserve


Also known as New Connecticut or Connecticut Reserve. Approximately three million acres in northeastern part of present-day Ohio. Claimed as part of Connecticut, 1786. Connecticut granted jurisdiction of reserve to U.S. government, 1800. Population in 1820 about 57,000. In 1829, included eight counties: Huron, Lorain, Medina, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Portage, Trumbull, and Ashtabula. Many Saints gathered in region, 1830s. JS lived within reserve’s boundaries, 1831–1838, in Kirtland and Hiram, Ohio.