An organized group of individuals holding the same office in the Melchizedek priesthood or the Aaronic priesthood. According to the 1835 “Instruction on Priesthood,” the presidency of the church constituted a quorum. The Twelve Apostles also formed a quorum. Quorums similarly existed for those ordained as seventies, high priests, elders, priests, teachers, and deacons, with presidencies appointed to preside over each quorum. By September 1843, JS organized a group or council of men and women, sometimes referred to as “the quorum,” to receive instruction and ordinances related to the temple.